Some people think that children should study in school the subject of science of food and how to prepare it properly. Other think it is a waste of time, because there are more important subjects to study.

It is often argued that the science of food and the proper preparation of it ought to be taught to children in school, while others suggest that there are other prominent subjects to be learned from educational institutes. In my opinion, I believe that although there are other relevant subjects to learn in school, in this era of highly processed food, educating children about the significance of proper food and the science behind it is pivotal. A growing body of research suggests that children knowing the fundamentals of food and cooking have a generally positive effect. One key benefit is that it will help them to effectively tackle lifestyle diseases in the future. This is because consumption of unhealthy food is proven to be a crucial contributing factor for lifestyle health issues. Taking diabetics, one of the life-threatening lifestyle diseases in the world, is primarily caused by poor diet. which can be controlled if the next generation makes informed decisions on their dietary choices with the help of proper knowledge acquired from school. Although teaching children about the diet and science behind food is not the only way to prevent his issue, it can be argued that the awareness the younger generation would collect from school will help to prevent this issue. On the other hand, it is clear that there are significant subjects to be taught in school than food and cooking, such as physics and mathematics. A key reason for this is that these are the subjects needed to secure a job in the future for the students. As such, spending a considerable amount of time on food can be labeled as a waste of time since cooking skills are not criteria for the job industry other than being a chef. While cooking can help children in their adult life, teaching it to them in school can be a loos of time. In conclusion, whilst learning about cooking in school can help to prevent lifestyle diseases in the future, it can also steal time from other important subjects. In my opinion, despite having some negative effects, I believe the youngsters learning the science behind food and proper cooking at school is generally beneficial.