Some people think that childcare centres provide the best services for children of pre-school age. Other working parents think that family members such as grandparents will be better carers for their kids.

Opinions divide as to whether preschoolers should be sent to childcare centers or taken care of by their relatives. While there are undeniable plus points when children stay with their family members, I believe childcare facilities are of more value to the developments of children involved. On the one hand, those who support the idea that family members are better carers for preschoolers cite the benefits of better understanding and children being more family-oriented. It is widely believed that family members, especially grandparents, understand their grandchildren’s behaviours and personality better than any non-relatives. This facilitates the nurturing process, hopefully forming the best version of their grandchildren. Another argument is that toddlers who live with grandparents are more likely to place greater significance on family value, leading to better family bonding. However, not all family members involved possess the skills required to foster a well-rounded child. By contrast, nursery schools with their professionalism are able to provide the best service, encompassing (/incorporating/including) most of the relatives’ merits. In fact, it is increasingly common for daycare centers to employ staff that are well-trained in early childhood education. Such daycare professionals tend to have insights into child development as well as are capable of tailoring their methods to best suit each individual. These personalised approaches tend to be indistinguishable from, better than in some cases, what grandparents have to offer. Added to this are the moral lessons, including family-related topics, incorporated into the activities would greatly foster the love towards family in these immature citizens. Furthermore, virtually all family members are not comparable to professional centers in terms of instructional activities (with the help of fully-equipped utilities) during school days that help enhance the children’s social skills, creativity, empathy and self-regulation. In conclusion, I tend to side with the proponents of sending children to childcare centers where they can develop to their fullest. This is not to say that all centers provide better standards compared to relatives, but this appears to be the case very frequently.