Some people think that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bar.

The severe and inhuman punishments have received a rude awakening from the Human Rights Council as the repercussions of harsh sentence for all offences is uncivilized. Few believe that unpaid community work in lieu of sentence confined to the four walls is a better option and I agree to it. If the manifesto behind punishing the accused is to pull back the crime rate then unfortunately it needs to be revisited with the rational mind. The State of California mentioned that between 2005 to 2009 thousands were put behind the bar for pilferage/uplifting and street crimes; however, none of these crimes showed a contradictionary trend. It is no bad if these prisoners are given some unpaid community work, as they are already a burden on State and are fed with money slurped through taxation. John Murphy of Colombia, a known serial killer was imprisoned at an age of twenty for looting a group of tourists. In an interview he disclosed that had he not spent those six months with other criminals behind the bars he could has been a completely different person. The strength for emphasis on certain prisoners can be taken from this case, imprisonment can leave a dreadful impression on the growing minds and when such unpremeditated convicts are expelled from society, they incline to re-offend in isolation as there is none to accept them. Someone with a sensible reason for a minor misconduct and no previous criminal’s record should be dealt differently than known offenders. The former deserves a second change while the latter should be imprisoned. Thus the unpaid community service can do the needful and indulgence with community may rehabilitate them.