Some people think that books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment.

Books have been a great source of information and entertainment since ages. However, in recent times, books are thought to be losing their importance. I agree with this view and in this essay I will explain how the availability of information on the internet and the aggressive growth of visual media have threatened the very existence of printed books. To begin with, thanks to the advent of the internet, all the information is now available at the click of a button. For example, if we need information on a particular topic, we only have to Google it and it is available for free. Thus people tend to search information online rather than spending money on books which are often expensive. Also, finding information from a book often takes a lot of time. Hence it is evident that the popularity of books is decreasing. Additionally, there has been a dramatic growth in the popularity and reach of visual media which provide different types of entertainment. For instance, people these days switch on their television during their free time. They no longer read a book to relax their mind. The internet also provides a lot of entertainment material and even smart phones have access to the internet these days. Therefore, the demand for books as a source of entertainment has reduced considerably. In conclusion, I would say that though books are a great source of information and entertainment, people, nowadays, have access to alternative means of entertainment and faster and more convenient sources of information. Consequently, books are losing their readers.