Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

Food is a very important aspect of human life. In fact, the health and survival of a person depends on the food that is consumed by him/her. If students are taught the science of food and preparation from an early age, it would help them to understand the importance of having a balanced diet and know how to maintain it in the long run. Lack of proper nutrition can lead to a number of health issues while growing up. Anaemia, high / low blood pressure and obesity are a few to name. The right intake of food can even prevent certain issues. For example, eating carrots is good for the eyes and can help keeping a person away from spectacles. Food safety is a very important topic as well. Knowing which food is edible, how to store cooked / raw food, test if the food has spoilt etc will keep the students healthy from falling sick due to food poisoning. Learning how to cook food would make them independent and capable of being able to feed themselves during the times of need. Learning important subjects during the school time is also important as this is going to shape the student's future. Studying various subjects like Physics, Biology, Mathematics, Accounts or Economics during school times will help the students to explore the various educational areas, find their course of interest to study in detail and finally pursuing their career of interest. I would say balancing the school time for both of these areas is an absolute necessity. While students need a career interest, their health is equally important to be able to pursue their dreams. I have come across a lot of students who do not focus on the right food habits and eventually end up with regular health issues. It also causes a lot of stress and strain for them during the exams. It will be a blessing for the students if they are educated about food science and preparation as they will themselves be able to avoid falling sick. In conclusion, food and regular subjects are both important areas of study for students. A healthy mind is a wealthy mind and a wealthy mind yields a good future!