Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. .

There has always been a constant debate on whether art should be a part of the curriculum or not. In my opinion, a thorough scrutinization of both views is needed before forming an opinion. To begin with, on one side of the coin, there are quite a few who consider children learning art at schooling is essential. There is a myriad of pros of a child being taught any form of art. Firstly, it helps in evolving a child as a person and emerges as a creative one. To illustrate I came across a painting in which the difference between rich and poor plight was depicted. According to recent studies, art has helped children boost concentration which in turn has shown elevation in the academic performance of children. This not only is useful in developing a hobby but also in building a career. Artists bring laurels to the country across the world and ensure the cultural heritage is preserved, which in turn would earn them the respect which is no less than a flourished career in technology. Art is the best medicine, for instance, music works as a therapy for many in a hectic schedule. On the flip side of the coin, some people find art a mere waste of time and can be forsaken. There are several reasons for supporting academics rather than art in schooling; firstly, learning technology is the need of the hour. It is one of the fanciest jobs nowadays and is a successful career. When compared there are fair opportunities to gain experience, growth and earn well. Engineering, IT, Medicine and a few others ensure the security of a career unlike choosing art as a career because art cannot ensure growth and success. To sum up, in my view, a balance has to maintained and the child must be given the freedom to choose as it is them who has to work for it.