Some people think that all University students should study whatever they like, others beleive that they should only be allowed to study the subject that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Nowadays, tertiary learning is gaining more importance. Learners choose to study in universities to boost their career. Few believe that University pupil should learn subjects for their interest, while others are of the opinion that, students should study courses that will be useful in the near future. This essay will discuss both ends of the above statement. It is quite practical if the pupil is admissible to study subjects that will help them to build a career, such as science and technology. To view it from another angle, if more and more students start choosing a particular field, there will be an increase in competition. For example, due to plethora of University graduates in a specific area of study, there will be lesser job opportunities for everyone and young graduates may ought to shift to some other country, in search of a job. Universities can include extra Curricular activities, such as Art and music. This approach will help them to get a job in another field, if they do not get a job in their main area of study. When a student is allowed to study subject of choice, he /she will show more interest and will aim to do better. Improving in the field of their liking will bring them mental piece and satisfaction. Conversely, their area of preference may not be able to get them a decent job. For instance, If someone chose poetry writing as their career, it may take a long time for people to actually recognise their work. So this path may even lead them to failure. Overall, I believe that one should not be forced to study in a particular field, as they may completely loose Interest and leave it half-way. Instead, they should be allowed to choose whatever they wish, even if they do not succeed.