Playing a musical instrument is one of the most important achievements for any child.

The topic of playing a musical instrument is still widely debated nowadays, with some people claiming that it is indeed one of the most important achievements for any child. However, I personally do not entirely accept this, and I will explain why in this essay. Firstly, music is important, as well as sports, arts, dancing, and so on, most important is one’s interest. In other words, the decision of what they learn should depend on the child as above are all crucial achievements. For instance, children might interest in martial arts, bodybuilding, painting, or even video games instead of playing musical instruments. Parents should support all interests and habits without discrimination regardless of the field and categories. What’s more, the gene varies between individuals, children might feel forced if learning a musical instrument is mandatory. For example, if a child is forced to learn guitar 8 hours a week, he/ she won’t feel enjoyable. Conversely, he/she might get against learning guitar after a certain time. Not to mention the cost of lectures, but it has negative effects on children, especially mentally. Lastly, achievements shouldn’t be limited to hard skills like playing a musical instrument or painting. Soft skills like teamwork or time management are essential achievements as well. As the fact that children can practice team-building skills, leadership and social skills by joining sports teams such as soccer, basketball or hockey teams. Besides, children can learn time management skills by participating in project management courses or case study groups. Hence, soft skills should be considered important achievements. I do appreciate that some people think differently, saying that playing a musical instrument is not only a hard skill but also can help children to build up patient Nevertheless, I feel that other activities like painting or sports can replace playing a musical instrument, and children can achieve an equal or better result if they enjoy what they learn.