Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Some people argue that students in university should only study subjects which are beneficial to our society, like medicine or engineering while others believe that students should have the freedom to choose a subject that they want to study. This essay will argue that even though science and technology have contributed a lot to our lives, we should not limit students’ options in university. From the public's point of view, it seems reasonable to say that university students should only study subjects which will benefit our society in the long term. For example, our medical practice has been making consistent progress due to the enormous amount of research. This can not be accomplished without a science education in a university. However, forcing students to study a subject that they have no interest in will result in poor knowledge, or they might fail to finish the degree. Therefore, it is totally unreasonable to ask students to enroll on science and technology subjects only. In addition, a university degree is closely connected to an individual’s future, and their future occupation depends on it, so they should be allowed to make their own decision. To obtain a degree, it will take at least four years or more to finish the work, and it will be a challenge for anyone who has no interest in that subject to accomplish this. For example, many Taiwanese students were forced to enter nursing school because their parents asked them to do so, and the result was that more than half of them quit nursing within three years of beginning their practice. It is a waste of students’ time and future; therefore, it is absolutely not wise to only allow them to choose very limited subjects of study. In conclusion, university students have the right to choose a subject that they will have a lifelong passion for, and students who are forced to take a certain subject will likely quit their job even if they manage to finish the degree.