Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. v. 112 v. 67

Some people believe that University students should be allowed to study any subject of their choice, while other hold the opinion that science and technology will be useful in future, therefore, students must study these subjects only. In my opinion, subjects other than science and technology are equally important, and students should not be discouraged from pursuing these subjects. Though scientific advancements have made our lives easier, we cannot undermine the value of other fields of study like, arts, music, history, geography, literature, cooking, sports, economics etc. Science cannot function without the knowledge of geography or history. There is a famous saying in English, that, all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy. We need music and arts to unwind ourselves after long day of work. Man is a social animal and has always socialized over music, watching movies or plays, or eating out. Sports and athletics our essential to keep out body healthy and fit. Even if a nation has great scientific acumen, it cannot progress without the knowledge of economics. In the past too, out communities have been built around music, theater and arts. The basic necessities of a human are shelter, food and security, followed by a knowledge of political science, law and economics. Our fore-fathers built a functional society because they studied these subjects, and therefore, today we have a privilege of studying science and technology. On the other hand, the importance of science and technology cannot be undermined as science has totally changed the human life on earth today. After the advent of Internet, everything is just a click away. Due to the advancements in medical science, we have cured fatal diseases which was no less than a dream some decades back. Our bigger brain and scientific acumen is what differentiates us from other species. Humans have come a long way from living in caves to reaching Mars, due to their scientific temper. Though science has been beneficial to us in many ways, I would like to conclude that the advantages of pursuing diversified careers certainly outweigh the advantages of studying only science.