Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. yrll

University education plays crucial role in determining fate of the students' career thus, people hold different opinions regarding what students should study. A group of people believe that students shall study subjects which will be useful in the future, on the other hand some think they must be free to choose any subjects. While both the arguments have merits, this essay examines the validity of these arguments and decides which is better of the two. Letting students choose their own subjects gives them option to decide their own future. Each student has their own interests and is best judge of his capabilities. Thus, when they pick subjects of their choice they have maximum chance of completing the course. If a student is forced to choose a subject which is not interesting to him, he may simply drop out of the course. Also, different students have different aspirations, so picking their own subjects lets them purse career of their choice. So, there are obvious benefits of letting the pupils study whatever they like. The view that students should study subjects which will be useful in future like science and technology is based on the fact that studying science makes them more employable. Our society today is industrial one and all the advancements we have made are due to science. Employment is one the major if the not only goal of university education. Studying these subjects will prepare breed of future scientists and engineers who will employable and students would be able to put bread on the table. When one studies fields such as humanities there is no clear path of employment, thus people suggest students should stick to only science and technology. I personally reckon that students are better off picking subjects of their choice. One size doesn't fit all thus, forcing everyone to study same subjects may have unintended consequences like unemployment resulting from oversupply and high college dropout rate. Additionally, people should be master of their own destiny and forcing any choice on them is against the basic principle of freedom. This, students should be free to make choice of their subjects.