Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Nowadays, there is an increasing number of subjects being introduced in universities throughout the world, in particular related to science and technology. While some people argue that students should make their own choice of subject, others consider that they should only choose subjects that will be helpful in the future. There are valid views on both sides, which I will discuss now. On the one hand, it is true that science and technology is a field that is very promising. The number of discoveries and inventions do not cease to surprise the population and this area will keep on expanding given the actual trend. For instance, researchers have revealed the most extensive genetic of cancers, which could help understand the origin of cancers. With even more students doing science and technology and working on such studies, they might eventually be able to solve many problems in the world. Moreover, a career in science and technology will be worthy for, businesses and organisations involved are always multiplying, with various job positions at different levels. On the other hand, not all students perform well in science and technology related subjects in secondary schools and hence, they should not be forced to pursue such studies at university level as this might lead to poor academic results. Indeed, some students are better at doing art studies or languages and would most probably choose to do programmes such as graphic designer or French respectively. Furthermore, if they are not allowed to choose their own career path, they might become depressed in the future since they do not feel satisfied with their life. This is depicted by a study carried out in India among students where nearly half of the population studied were forced to do a subject they did not want to and the majority of them were not happy in their life. In conclusion, I firmly believe that all university students should be given the freedom to choose the subject they want to study, provided that they receive appropriate guidance from their parents and superiors. They should be allowed to pursue the career they want, so that they do not become depressed later. Nowadays, there is an increasing number of subjects being introduced in universities throughout the world, in particular related to science and technology. While some people argue that students should make their own choice of subject, others consider that they should only choose subjects that will be helpful in the future. There are valid views on both sides, which I will discuss now. On the one hand, it is true that science and technology is a field that is very promising. The number of discoveries and inventions do not cease to surprise the population and this area will keep on expanding given the actual trend. For instance, researchers have revealed the most extensive genetic of cancers, which could help understand the origin of cancers. With even more students doing science and technology and working on such studies, they might eventually be able to solve many problems in the world. Moreover, a career in science and technology will be worthy for, businesses and organisations involved are always multiplying, with various job positions at different levels. On the other hand, not all students perform well in science and technology related subjects in secondary schools and hence, they should not be forced to pursue such studies at university level as this might lead to poor academic results. Indeed, some students are better at doing art studies or languages and would most probably choose to do programmes such as graphic designer or French respectively. Furthermore, if they are not allowed to choose their own career path, they might become depressed in the future since they do not feel satisfied with their life. This is depicted by a study carried out in India among students where nearly half of the population studied were forced to do a subject they did not want to and the majority of them were not happy in their life. In conclusion, I firmly believe that all university students should be given the freedom to choose the subject they want to study, provided that they receive appropriate guidance from their parents and superiors. They should be allowed to pursue the career they want, so that they do not become depressed later.