Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Higher education is a necessary step in an individual’s life. Some argue that the courses that are being offered by universities should be restricted to useful fields such as science and technology, I disagree. This essay will discuss how it is essential to have a perfect mixture of learning by giving the liberty to students to choose their area of interests and also mandate few subjects that could help to make the world a better place. On the one hand, it is essential to teach relevant subjects which could benefit at personal and societal level. Many innovations have had a tremendous impact on the evolution of mankind and were able to provide solutions to many persistent problems. Due to its relevance, many businesses tend to commercialize it and employ students who have prior knowledge in the areas of study. To illustrate this, a BBC news report state that funding of universities and awarding of scholarships are usually based on the excellence in areas of physics and computer sciences. Thus, it is possible to state that with growing interest from corporate entities and a lucrative future ahead, many students incline of taking up a career in engineering or medicine. On the other hand, emphasis should be on pursuing interests and seeking knowledge to lead a content life in long run. Colleges are an abode for intellectual teachers and sculpting young minds for future generations. The development would be accelerated if the learning is coupled with vested interest from the pupils. For example, Steve Jobs, a modern great, in an interview explained that he had to drop out of college due to his disinterest in formal education and also lack of interesting subjects to trail. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that academies should provision diverse electives which could appeal to majority of potential candidates. In conclusion, I firmly believe that although being taught in subjects that are relevant to future is important, students should also be given a choice to follow disciplines which they are enthusiastic about.