Buying things on the Internet, such as books, air tickets and groceries, is becoming more and more popular. Do the advantages of shopping in this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, online shopping is gaining its popularity every day in many developed and even developing countries. While some individuals may be against this technology, I personally believe that an online purchase brings much more benefits than drawbacks because it helps people save time and money at the same time. Firstly, by shopping online, a considerable amount of time can be saved. Not only can time on the road be reduced, but also time being spent inside each store or walking to different shops could be minimized. For instance, without having the need of driving to physical stores to buy ingredients for dinner, such time can be instead spent on some quality time with family members. Therefore, by shopping online, individuals would have more flexibility to manage their time and have more control over their time efficiency because visiting places solely for purchases would become unnecessary. ​Secondly, when shopping is done online, people can economize their expenses. Compared to the past, it now has become easier than ever to compare prices due to the Internet. This means that customers nowadays are more knowledgeable especially when it comes to searching for the most suitable deals and products for themselves. In other words, if online shopping did not become a norm, buyers would not have had many options to choose, resulting in spending on whatever they see in front of them in a store and possibly, buy something more for a replacement. However, due to the advancement of online shopping culture, customers now do not have to re-spend on a similar product but buy the best ones for themselves. ​To conclude, although some disadvantages could be argued about online shopping, benefits in terms of time and money would surpass them. Without the trend of shopping online, the majority of people would have spent more time and money on unnecessities that are avoidable.