Recent advancement in communication technology is connecting people around the world. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of being connected.

Communication technology has progressed speedily and has successfully connected people all around the globe. It comes with its own share of pros and cons. A number of advantages can be listed out from being connected. Through my point of view, I think closeness that it brings is the most outstanding one. All relatives and friends around the globe can interact and share with each other regardless of their distance from each other, which maintains closeness among them. For instance, a relative in USA can inform me if some incident were to occur via phone, computers or other medias at any time. Secondly, up-to-date news and information can be circulated easily. Various methods like videos and recordings can be sent readily anywhere in the planet. As a result, everyone can have latest news on the palm of their hand in a moments notice. For example, recent military coup in Myanmar is being known world-wide through mobile phones and social platforms. On the contrary, being connected facilitates various drawbacks as well. I believe terrorist activities conducted worldwide are its major demerit. Like us, terrorists are also connected. Terrorist groups active widely are remotely controlled and ordered by their leader from a very far-away place making it harder to apprehend them. To illustrate, terrorists are very active in India's Jammu and Kashmir who are being ordered from Pakistan bringing much harm to the country. Furthermore, being connected also provides leeway for criminal activities like threats and bullying. Criminals use this connection to threaten many normal civilized person and even blackmailing them creating terror in their heart and mind. An evil-minded person can establish connection with its prey for these purposes. To conclude, being connected all around is an absolutely beautiful and precious gift that we have got, enabling us to share things and get news despite the distance barrier among us. But similarly, it is being misused for other heinous activities which would not have been possible without connection. So, I believe connection should be used wisely to maximize its benefits and eradicate its bad side.