Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in future such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In today’s world, education is always held high in regards and thus what sort of education should university students go through has always been a point of concern and debate. In this essay we will discuss whether students should allow pursuing subjects of their liking or according to degree of relevance like science and technology. A plethora of individuals who weren’t able to follow their passion are now supporting the idea that students should choose subject of their own liking. When asked about reason they backed up their idea by saying that if you study whatever subject you love you will definitely succeed in life. According to research conducted last year, 83% of the students who select engineering as their primary subject end up working in field related to their favorite subjects, and they were extremely successful. This particular reason with facts and figures are sufficient to support this ideology. Due to globalization, sharing business strategies and innovations have become simpler and therefore people believe that science and technology streams will be immensely useful in the future. With the emergence of AI and machine learning there are ample of opportunities for students to showcase their talents moreover it will also assist society to grow as an outcome of growing technology. A study conducted by World Economic Forum suggests that job market in STEM field will increase by 47% by 2030. Therefore, pursuing STEM education will be extremely fruitful for future generations. Looking at increasing demand for high literacy, discussion regarding whether students should permit to study their favorite subject, or they should study subjects which have good opportunities is critical. In my opinion, university students shall consult experts from streams they want to pursue and act accordingly.