Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Several people argue that youngsters should be encouraged to be competitive with others, while some believe that young kids should have sense of cooperation. Although children are encouraging to excel and win, I believe that young people should be taught to cooperate for the wholistic development of their well-being. In the early stages of their development as toddlers, young kids are being taught to win and excel at school. At the same time, teachers make children compete by comparing them with other kids in terms of their development and accomplishments. For example, when I was younger, teachers give rewards for those top ten students who do well in the classroom, or they praise children who received the most stars from doing better at school. This kind of teaching gives children the impression that they should outdo other children in order for them to be rewarded. Hence, this will also push the children to do well and will develop the desire to win. While competitiveness can be a good characteristic in a child, it is also important that they should learn to cooperate and work well with others. Since the world is moving in a fast-paced environment, it is essential for the children to understand that establishing a good relationship is as vital as having a healthy competition with others. Hence, this is clearly illustrated in the current school system in Japan. Japanese teachers do not reward their pre-school students based on their grade results. Rather, they honor their students based on how well they work with other students through helping each other in their daily tasks, supporting their schoolmates in their activities, and how they treat their classmates. As a result, Japanese preschoolers able to learn sense of cooperation which is equally important as having a sense of competitiveness. To conclude, today’s world is highly competitive, and sense of competition in children will help them to survive as adults. But it is also critical to remember that to be competitive, one must learn to work well with others for them to be more beneficial to the society and achieve greater accomplishments. After all, a good leader must be a good team member first.