Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Education has transformed rapidly for the last few decades. Nowadays, the community considers that kids ought to compete with their peers, whilst, some parents support their child to be more aware of teamwork rather than paying attention to the competition. This essay will discuss and scrutinize each point of view. First and foremost, the sense of competing is inevitably important, especially in this digital era. This is due to the fact that the university and employers today could easily find the student's information and achievements through the internet and compare it with the other competitors. Unless a person does not have a unique and outstanding ability, he will be easily rejected. Hence, teaching the desire to win to the children is vital for encouraging their level of competitiveness so they would survive in job-seeking. Although competition is not a single factor to measure success, at least it can not be disregarded. Nevertheless, soft-skill and teamwork are also crucial for work-life and career. The reason behind this is that many abilities and skills are gradually replaced by the existence of robots, big data, and artificial intelligence. Meanwhile, the only ability that will never be changed by technology was co-operation skill because it is a human distinctive characteristic. For instance, the research from the University of Oxford stated that in the future, more than 75% area will be done automatically leading to the fact that employers will absolutely find the most valuable person for both hard skill and soft skill for the rest 25%. As a consequence, the skill to co-operate is also urgently required. However, to be able to survive in this disruptive era, this ability overweight the need for competitiveness so it should be highlighted in education. All in all, youngsters not only need to understand how to become a winner but also how to work in a team. Personally, I do really agree that soft ability must be rewarded first. As a solution, the government should include a cooperation syllabus as one of the curricula in our education system.