The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since year 1888 until year 2000, the total number of cars increases to 29 million in British. We can see that the amount of cars have increased greatly in this short amount of time. This shows that the technology is getting more and more advanced day by day. As a consequence, the automobile industries have developed as we can see numerous types of automobile companies around the globe. Therefore, the total number of cars is expected to be increased in this quick- paced society. However, there is a solution to everything. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and strict laws are implemented internationally. I totally acquiesce with the solutions recommended. First and foremost, alternative forms of transport should be encouraged. This includes bus, LRT and the list to go. Massive amount of cars in the world is the major problem that caused various types of environmental issues in the world. There are a plethora of vehicles that they release a lot of harmful gases to the atmosphere, such as carbon dioxide, which detrimentally affected our environment, as well as physical health. For instance, global warming and asthma. By using public transport however, can reduce number of vehicles on the road. Hence, as a result, less amount of harmful gases are released. Therefore, with the increasing number of cars today, we should take measures to protect our mother nature to ensure a more comfortable place to live in. As the saying goes, where there is a will, there is a way. Subsequently, if people tend to use alternative transport such as public transport, this can reduce the number of cars on the road. If everyone use their own vehicles instead, this may lead to traffic jams, which is a norm in today's society. As a result, they may late for work and hence they may have to face the music, which is scolded by the employers. Therefore it is encouraged to use alternative transport. This is due to the owing fact that public transports are convenient and there will be no traffic jams. Hence, it saves time. All in all, it is highly recommended to use alternative transport instead of using own vehicles. Moreover, government should implement strict rules to be followed internationally to control car ownership and use. It is undeniable that there will be at least one car in each household. One such rules is that each household can only own one car. And also, citizens are encouraged to walk or cycle to a nearer place instead of using car to reduce the use of car. In a nutshell, I strongly agree that alternative transport and international laws are effective ways to control the use of car in this rat race society, where the world is dominated by advanced technologies. I believe that there are more solutions to the problem faced. Therefore, everyone in this planet plays a part to reduce the use of car and this is definitely not a one man show