Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults.

While some people opine that competition should be instilled in children, others disagree with this notion and believe that cooperation is more important, because by learning it children can become more useful adults. In my opinion, competition is more important than cooperation. This essay will discuss how growth is directly linked with the wish to compete, and although children can feel pressure because of the immense competition, it is better that they get familiar with such pressure at the early stage of their lives. Competition motivates people to outperform others because it allows them to assess their performance against the performance of others. This essay supports this point of view because it is commonly observed that the students of the schools where academic performance is graded and ranked with the objective of promoting competition do better in studies than the students of those institutes that do not follow the same methodology. People who support cooperation believe that the sense of competition puts unnecessary pressure on children; therefore, a relaxed environment where students can learn and cooperate with one another should be provided to them. I disagree with this thinking because it is crucial for children to cope with the pressure to compete during their childhood itself. Moreover, it is often observed that children with difficult childhood perform better in practical life than other children. The reason is that difficulties faced at a younger age makes them well prepared for the challenges of adulthood. In conclusion, although the sense of competition can make the childhood more stressful, it increases the probability of success in the practical life. Therefore, children should be encouraged to compete with each others at an early stage of life, as it will help them to become stronger and better human beings.