Some people think that a persons improve their intellectual skills more when doing a group activity.

As we all know, it is a long journey for a person to become a scholar. Some people believe that team work will boost individual cognitive capacity growth. However, I agree with them under certain conditions. The essay will discuss my agreement with this view and also list my opinion against it. To begin with, it is a truth that team work will boost the growth of cognitive intelligence and wisdom in the certain conditions. If a team consists of cooperative members with attitudes of willing to learn together, it will enhance their individual knowledge growth. There is a Chinese saying, " In a group of people with more than three individuals, there is always a teacher among them. " During team work,  team members will contribute their individual knowledge due to their various educational backgrounds, personal experiences and individual ideas.  People may learn new concepts or knowledge during team work, which may not be learned from books or limited personal experience. Therefore, during team work, people are able to practice their cognitive skills so that they will become more smarter. On the contrast, in certain situation, team work may diminish the opportunities for team member's cognitive improvement. For instance, it is a tough task for team members who work together with opposite views in religions or politics. Therefore, in this condition, team work will create conflict and it is a challenging task for each member to reach the same agreement. This will distort participants' thought rather than helping them to obtain knowledge. In this condition, team work might affect the participants' intelligence growth. In conclusion, team activity may not always contribute to the growth of team member's cognitive skills. Whether team work will enhance the growth of an individual's intelligence will depend on many aspects of team members, such as personal values, religion and attitude as well. I personally agree that the majority of team work will help the participants to obtain knowledge and become wiser.