Some people think that a person improves intellectual skills better when doing group activities. Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

These days, some people state that group activities are the wiser ways for people to improve intellectual skills. This term concludes skills to express one’s ideas, understanding them, and these techniques lead to being intelligent. I believe that implementing group work will not improve intellectual skills, and performing independent work would help better for one to improve these techniques. Firstly, people who have a shy personality would disadvantage from group activities. The reason why we carry out group activities is for the person to freely express their ideas and debate about them along with their teammates. However, this basic purpose may not work in few circumstances. For example, if the team has been chosen where one child is very self-opinionated and one child very timid, group work cannot be done as the first child will only express oneself’s ideas, which might be wrong or correct. In this context, the group work would have failed as teammates wouldn’t have cooperated well thus might learn wrong facts. However, self opinionated child could do the tasks well, even if they are assigned to an individual task, as they will always express their ideas well regardless whether they are on a team or not. On the contrary, children who are timid and shy to express their ideas would disadvantage from group activities as if all the ideas are out, they would simply not express their thoughts, and if this gets repeated, it might also lead to a decrease in intellectual skills. Additionally, group activity’s results only depend on its members. There are various people in a society, and you might not be lucky to always have good teammates who have amazing ideas. There are people who always play without giving any ideas, and those who have responsibility will have to cover all the works, even for the teammates who doesn’t work at all. In these situations, group activities are not the best ideas as teammates with no responsibility wouldn’t think, which will fail to improve intellectual skills, and despite those who have responsibility would have improved intellectual skills, they would stress because of “playing “ teammates. When doing individual work, this problem simply would disappear as everyone must do their work, think themselves, and speak for themselves. To conclude, due to these two reasons, I partially believe that performing group tasks would not improve intellectual skills, and doing individual tasks would help better.