Some people think that a high tax on unhealthy food is the best way to improve people’s eating habits. Others think that this is not an effective solution. What is your view?

Some people believe that imposing a heavy tax on fast food is the best way to make consumers’ habits better. In this essay, however, I will challenge with this school of thought. Granted, one might argue that eating habits of people would be healthier if they have to pay much more money for unhealthy food. This is predicated on the assumption that such a measure would make these consumers feel that it is not worth paying. This, according to this theory, few fast food stores will open to serve. However, this line of reasoning is not sound because the demand of food nowadays is highly enormorous. In addition, unhealthy food such as fried chicken, hot dog is a favorite of youngsters even adults. On the other hand, fast food industry has thrived in recent years and brought a huge amount of fund. Businessmen in this industry with an numerous profit would continue to open these stores. To add further credence to my assertion, I note that root cause of this serious issue: consumers’ unawareness of beneficial impact of healthy food on their life. Thus, the key is to governments helping them to mindful of how they would be if they cook and use ingredients in healthy ways. Given a number of methods of cooking healthy food, they would have become more approachable to eating style which are completely good for healthy. Furthermore, by this way, adults are likely to feed their children a variety of healthy kind of food, which allows new generations are well educated about healthy food when they were young. In conclusion, it is a mistake to assume that forcing people to pay a high tax on unhealthy food is either necessary nor plausible. Consumers should be informed and catered for healthy ingredients to have a better style of eating.