Some people think that a country should produce food locally, while others believe that it is good to import food. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

At a time in which the field agriculture is steadily developing, the conundrum whether a country is better off purchasing food products from another country or ought to produce locally is turning into a matter of distress throughout the world. To my way of thinking, I am partially in tune with the conviction implying that a country should crop comestibles by using their own land. In this paper, I will seek to back up my assertively held notions with some plausible illustrations. [77] In the first place, I contemplate and presume that if a country import food products from neighboring lands, it may have some adverse effects on its citizens’ health for some grounds. Firstly, food product selling country may have added extra chemicals so as to boost the amount of crop and as a result, if people consume these food goods, they may be attacked by some ailments. Moreover, nutritionists and food experts claim that the percentage of becoming obese in people eating food with high cholesterol is too high. Secondly, during the process of sending food products on articulated lorries via an overland route to the country which purchased them, the quality of goods may be spoiled by virtue of lack in cool weather required for them or enough moisture. [120] Equally importantly, some products which can merely be produced in certain areas cannot be overlooked. The best part of citruses, for instance, can only be cropped in tropical areas, so the countries located in arctic zones have no chance but importing these products. Some people may think that farmers can crop citruses in greenhouses but it really takes much time as the soil that the trees planted may be different and the tolerance of most citruses, if not all, against infections is weak. Also, the process of adaptation may be too expensive because if you choose not to crop citrus in hot countries, you will need to add numerous chemicals to soil and indeed, your products may be vulnerable and have substandard quality because of chemicals. Therefore, some products may only be produced in certain climate so some countries are better off purchasing these products from other countries. [130] In conclusion, I would maintain that importing food products may not be wise option by dint of some cases- too much chemicals and spoiling goods’ quality during the trip of delivering-, whereas its beneficial sides cannot be ignored. Meanwhile, I equally support both views as their profits are vitally important and impressive. [40]