Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Food science is a new subject of study that attracts much attention recently. Some ardent supporters encourage students to enrol this major. Simultaneously, some fervent groups oppose this idea regarding the existence of other more essential fields of studies, leaving this issue highly debatable. This essay will discuss these two viewpoints, but I personally consider that studying food preparation is as significant as the other major of studies. It is generally speaking that food is the most integral part of human's basic needs. Studying the technology of preparing it will benefit people as an individual and open the opportunity of food development in the industrial context. Moreover, technology advancement means what meals can be preserved, packaged and delivered without changing its original form, flavour, and nutrients. Consequently, people may consume food products that more edible and affordable. For example, a well-known traditional food in Java, Gudeg, genuinely could only be served and consumed on the spot within the same day. Nowadays, with the usage of preservation and proper packaging, Gudeg food had transformed, so that people from anywhere could experience this cuisine without visiting the original place. In my opinion, the technology development of food preparation is growing exponentially due to the high demand from the food industry, triggering more people becoming scientists to explore deeply on it. However, some people criticize that there is no urgent need to learn food science at the academic level, since the market demand is relatively segmented, such as restaurants and food manufacturing companies, resulting in small job opportunities in the future. Furthermore, a growing number of voices encourage people to eat food naturally, without any sophisticated preparation and additional chemical substances, concerning the human body's impact in the long run. Hence, it is advised for any prospective student to deepen knowledge about science that is more general, such as electrical engineering or medical degree. To summarise, the technology of food science and preparation as the subject of study may offer more excellent benefits to society. In contrast, oppositions always question the urgency and going concerned about this study. In my view, I strongly agree that science related to food is essential and suggest prospective students study about it.