Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. Discuss both views and give your opinion? Give reasons for your answer, and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Start a discourse about the importance of science of food and there will quickly be an overwhelming amounts of conflicting opinions. While some think that students should study the science of food and how to prepare it, others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects. I'll be exploring both sides of the arguments and giving my decision below. To begin, I do agree to a certain extent that learning how to prepare food is an essential skills of life, reasons being that students will eventually have to live apart from their family in some point of their live and they will have to know to make foods for themselves or their families in the future. It's becoming a social phenomen that many students don't know how to cook because their parents overly spoil them on a daily basis and their food was always prepared by their parents. However, i don't agree that this is skills of necessity weighs over the importance of learning other subjects at school, here's why. The competitiveness of our public education system has made it harder than ever for our students of the current generation, to secure a place from their ideal universities. Therefore, i personally hold the view that school time should not go into waste, more than that, i believe that school should even make a better use of the current school time, to optimize the learning environment and raise the productivity of students. Sad to say, it is the fact that the public examination results of students basically determine for more than half of their future career and job level. Regarding about cooking being an essential survival skill, as i have mentioned above, they will have face it eventually one way or another in life and i believe that that skill will eventually come to them as well, sooner or later. One exception that this might not be true is when the students can learn the science behind food and ways to prepare it, without having to affect their learning time, such as through mutual agreement of adjusting the school time on and off time or other feasible ways, as the prerequisites. Other than that, i don't see how or why should students sacrifice their precious learning time in order to learn this essential skill of life. This concludes my opinions about whether students should study the science of food and how to prepare it in their school time, i hold the view that learning important subjects over weighs learning how to prepare food in a lot of ways, in terms of future job prosperity, security and career. Therefore, in my opinions, I believe that school time should be used towards learning important subject instead.