The question of whether pupils should attend a subject dealing with a healthy alimentation can be replied in two ways.

The question of whether pupils should attend a subject dealing with a healthy alimentation can be replied in two ways. On the one hand, food and cooking can be considered essential for everyone and thus relevant subjects. On the other hand, the school's duty is to teach the vital and complex subjects instead of basic everyday competences. Nevertheless, a healthy alimentation is crucial for a healthy life and therefore affects our professional life. As cooking and eating are part of family life, it can be argued that food preparation skills can be taught at home. Parents can show their offspring how to prepare meals that are common in their family. However, the school should focus on complex topics like science or language because parents cannot provide this knowledge at home. Nonetheless, the school must provide those skills to ensure appropriate preparation for further university studies or any other profession. In contrast, alimentation is a topic that affects everyone. A healthy and balanced alimentation is the basis of a healthy life. However, not all parents practice cooking as it would be desirable. This circumstance can be caused by a lack of knowledge or a lack of time due to a hectic workday life. Therefore, the science of food should be part of school education. Hence, every child would leave the school well equipped with at least the necessary skills. To sum up, as healthy eating habits are fundamental for a healthy life and thus for success in all other areas of life, including the professional career, it should be part of scholar education. Personally, I would suggest introducing a new subject to the syllabus of all schools called 'healthy life'. This subject could deal with healthy alimentation, balanced exercising, and stress relaxation.