Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they want to do.

If there is no fear in the minds of people of the consequences they would face after breaking a certain law, then the public will behave more carelessly and disrupt the peace in the community. Firstly, without a set structure of rules and regulations in a society, the crime rates would increase drastically, such as thefts, murders, rapes and so on. With no proper laws in a community, the public will start stealing money, cars and all kind of things. Even the number of murders and rapes will rise and cause disruption in society at a dramatic level. For instance, there is a very small town in India, where people break rules all the time because the law enforcement does not keep a track of crimes there properly, therefore, creating more chaos in that town. Secondly, there will be more traffic and car accidents happening in the society at a huge scale, resulting in the loss of many human lives. Without any rules to follow on roads for driving, crossing paths and no signal lights to follow, then all the vehicles on highways will bump into each other creating a huge amount of traffic which in turn will cause major car accidents. For example, once I was travelling to work and the traffic signal malfunctioned, which caused a two hours traffic on the road creating small collisions between vehicles who were trying to cut the car line. To conclude, devoid of proper rules and regulations imposed by the law in society, the public won't function appropriately if given the free will to do whatever they want. Not only, I totally agree with this statement, but also, I strongly feel that without law-abiding rules, there will be huge chaos within the communities.