Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think that school time should be used in learning important subjects.

In the contemporary world, understanding of healthy eating and cooking become much more vital to human life when compared to the past due to arrival of fast foods. A few individuals feel that classes should teach about the science of food and how to cook it, while rest of them consider that essential subjects should be taught to students in their school time. There are a few reasons why we should educate children about the science of food. To begin with, nowadays most of the people across the world don’t eat nutritious food which eventually lead them to unhealthy lifestyle and at some stage they become hospitalized. Furthermore, students are more addicted to fast foods because it is delicious compared to traditional foods cooked at home. Hence, we should make sure from our future generations understand the food items and learn about preparation methods. As per World Health Organization, 65 % of children are obese last year and the reason was mainly due to consumption of unhealthy food. On the other hand, there are a plethora of benefits for the pupil to learn essential subjects. Firstly, children to be taught about the basic skills like language, mathematics, history and physical education while studying in the primary schools. Later, in secondary and university they should be educated in the career dreams which may be engineering, arts, medical science and so on. These courses are more crucial for their survival and for the country as well. By excelling any of the above mentioned field may directly benefits growth of the country and image. To sum up, even though students learning about the food science is better which can keep them healthy, in my perspective this skill can be learned by vocational training, while the school should to teach and impart other important skills and knowledge in order for them to survive and excel.