Some People Think That Art Is An Essential Subject For Children At School

The art subject has become compulsory in almost every school. Some people think that it is an essential subject, but others opine that it is a waste of time. Even though both of them are correct to some extent, I think it should be an elective subject since not everyone is interested in arts. Some people think that the art subject is important for children since it can improve them in several ways. Art will make children innovative and improve their concentration because it involves fun and also demands thinking. In other words, it enhances the creativity in children without putting them under stress. For example, playing flute involves fun and also they need to be innovative to compose their own music. Besides, they should memorize some techniques to master the instrument. Hence, the subject is good in making children innovative/creative and focused in an enjoyable way. Secondly, art would help them to support themselves financially when they grew up. For example, if a child is good at playing a musical instrument, they can earn money in future by showcasing their skills. On the other hand, some people think that learning art is a waste of time. Not all students are good at arts, so it might not support them in future. So, they opine that investing time in a subject which is not going to help in future is a waste of time; instead/rather they should focus on subjects which attract them the most. To sum up, in my opinion, whether or not a student should learn art depends on their interest. So, the institutions should make the art class as an elective subject; therefore, interested students can sign up according to their choice.