Many parents give jobs to their children to do around the house in order to develop their characters and self-sufficiency. Discuss this idea and give your opinion

In many modern day families, it is a common aspect of family life that parents give jobs to their children to do around the house to develop their characters and a sense of self- sufficiency. This aspect can be looked at as having both positive and negative sides. When parents give their children jobs or chores to do around the house, they make their children understand that they are part of a community. While this community is only within the family's house, the lessons children learn from carrying out their chores are equally fitting for the global community where they live in. Children are taught that they have to integrate into the global community and that in order for this community to work effectively, everyone must carry out their chores. Furthermore, children learn about the concept of pride, as they are taught to be proud of what they have accomplished. Chores around the house additionally prepare children for living independently later on in life, as they acquire skills that are valuable for everyday life. Although there are many supporters of this concept, some parents argue that children should not be given jobs to do around the house. They argue that children should be allowed to be children and not have any duties. For them, children should be left as children and should not have to deal with any of the responsibilities adults have to deal with. In conclusion, I believe that giving children chores to carry out is a positive aspect of family life, as I think that it helps children to become independent and makes it easier for them to live by themselves later on in life.