Some people think students should study the science of food and how to prepare it. Others think students should spend time on important subjects.

The science of food has been taught in academic setting for many years. While there are people who think that studying food and how to prepare it are vital for students to learn, others think that school curriculum must focus on other important subjects such as math and science. In my opinion, the study of food science is as important as other courses and must be taught in academe as well. The science of food tackles the importance of agriculture and planting of crops. This is essential to the knowledge of the students because agriculture is a big contributor to the economic development of a country. Moreover, the science of food also teaches the students the importance of food nutrients and the benefits it can give to our body. For example, children will be able to comprehend the importance of food and vegetables in their growth development as many of them are not used to eat leafy green vegetables. Lastly, When children learn the science of food at an early age, it can also spark their interests to be professional chef and to be involved in food technology which is vital in today’s world to fight hunger crisis. Conversely, Other subjects such as Math and Science are essential as well. These subjects can help further enhance the technology that we have today as it is the foundation of computer algorithms. In addition, Math and Science help the students to gain more knowledge in technology that can have huge impact to the lives of many people in the future. For example, a number of students aspire to be astronauts, or doctors, or engineers through their interest in Math and Science. Likewise, food, math, and science, in general, can also be integrated as part of another branch of technology that can help people in agricultural business. In conclusion, the science of food is equally important to teach in schools as it helps the wholistic development of a child. Although preparing food can may sound simple and easy, I believe it is still imperative that children learn this at school for them to be able to understand the importance of it and to also apply their learnings in real life settings.