Nowadays many researches are being sponsored by private organizations. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages of this trend?

These days, private owner-ships have had a tendency to invest on researches. Although, Private organizations alongside the government can carry out some significant scientific projects, private sectors can be harmful by ignoring society’s issues. In my opinion, private organizations are far better off having funded on researches despite the challenges that they will face. The greatest benefit of sponsoring private organizations in researches is that it is created more vacancies to fulfill at the macro level. It is true that government has a lot of issues on their hand and it may be possible for them to overlook the potential of research projects and not fund due to financial deficit. Here is where private owner-ships can be helpful by investing their huge monetary resources in projects. For example, with the onset of the recession and reduction of government monetary resources in Iran, due to lack of private sectors, the number of projects diminished practically. So, private firms can provide the much necessary financial backing to researchers to carry on with their findings. In contrast, private funding does have some serious drawbacks. Since private organizations are driven by profit, they may accept those researches which are gained more income. By continuing this situation, those projects that have more social value but less monetary profit, are set aside and gradually fade. For example, there have been many cosmetic and pharmaceutical companies making false claims about their research just for more money. Therefore, profit for private owner-ships is a powerful factor that must be considered. In conclusion, sponsoring by private owner-ships is prevalent these days. Despite being cooperative about financial issues with government, one of their priorities is profit which can make serious social problems. In my view, although there are some negative point on this issue, supporting the researches by private organizations should be encouraged.