Plastic bags are the main source of rubbish causing pollution. People think they should be banned.

Theae days our world is facing enormous environmental issues. Among them plastic bags are one of the crucial items that pose a great threat to life on earth as well as marine life. Therefore, many people believe prohibiting them. I strongly agree with the above notion and the reasons for bolstering my opinion will be elaborated below. Firstly, plastic bags have a detrimental effect on the environment due to the fact that they are not easily biodegradable. Which means that they may take hundred of years to get decomposed if littered on earth. Consequently, this does not allow the rain water to percolate through the ground making it even more drier. For example, a recent research conducted by Indian hydrologists illustrates that 60% of areas where ground water crisis happens is owing to the accumulation of plastics under the soil layer. On the other hand, plastics can be recycled but only to a certain extent and the byproduct resulting from them will get mixed up in the ocean. Eventually, it creates a hazardous effect to the marine life too. For instance, it is found by the ocean department scientists that tiny plastic particles are consumed by the fishes and turtles that subsequently destroys the digestive system thus kills them. To conclude, for the aforementioned reasons, people should have awareness on reducing the usage of plastic bags alongside they can switch to paper bags or cloth bags. Thus, This act will contribute to the mitigation of plastic related problems.