Some people think spending a lot on birthday celebration and wedding in a waste of money. Others think that it is important for individuals and society.

Extravagant parties has become a common practice and integral part of modern life. A part of society embraced this culture as it gives them a sense of complacency, and it is a great way of socializing and keeping a healthy bond with the people we value. However, there is a growing concern that this practice is actually deteriorating our life standard, also they think this prodigal spending can find better use in other benevolent purposes. This essay is going describe both of the aspects more closely. Throwing lavish parties is not anymore just a mean of celebrating people's happiness and accomplishment with others, but it creates a platform for communication, get together, and liaise with peers, colleagues and professional acquaintances, along with friends, relatives and neighbors. This can be exemplified by the fact that the initial stages of most of the corporate dealings are actually handled in private parties, claimed by many business articles. Another reason is people love to showcase their success and achievement, so they tend to be immoderate about party budget. Now, both reasons have great significance, first one is for professional public relationship and maintaining a strong bond with a circle which feeds people with kind of sense of security. The second one serves as motivation for personal growth for an individual. Besides, the happiness people share together and their fun activities, like - taking photos, are token of memories for the host and guests, they can reminisce these for a long time. This trend of exotic parties, however, is linked to some tension in the society. Firstly, sometimes people have to make such grand arrangements just maintain their social status, even if they do not want to or cannot afford it. It causes a psychological burdens like anxiety and depression; sometimes, it makes them vulnerable financially. For instance, in my country it is customary to arrange several feasts in wedding ceremonies for hundreds, even for thousands of people. This expense makes some parents or newly married couples financially paralyzed for some years which eventually results in having detrimental effect on their mental health. Secondly, this block of money causes people's savings to shrink and to compromise their lifestyle in many ways. Thirdly, there are myriads of fields where we can make better use of our money rather than spending that on some social gathering for couple of hours, such as - feeding poor, granting education for underprivileged children, taking care of helpless people, donating to protect environment and ecology, spending in scientific research which can make the world a better place, and many more. So, we should judge wisely before we spend our precious money. To core out, big bashes are not always a wastage, as these have some positive influence on people's personal life and society, and people have every right to decide how they are going to spend their hard-earned pennies. Concurrently, it should neither be a cause to degrade and compromise their lifestyle, nor to deter them from performing their duty toward the deprived populace and the environment