Some people think schools should select students on the basis of their marks. Others think they should be selected on the basis of talent.

School is an imperative part of a child’s life. There are certain people who insinuate that children should be given admission in the school solely on the basis of their grades. However, others believe that a child’s talent should be taken into consideration while giving admission and I think this view holds more weightage. Let us delve deeper into both the views along with my perception in the subsequent paragraphs. To begin with, due to some reasons, people think academic results are more important. Predominantly, the academic records show the cognitive abilities of a student. To explicate, if a child performs well in examination, it indicates he is good at learning things. Thus, creating a mind et of people that only a person with good grades can study well and become successful. For an instance, the competitive exams such as, NEET, UPSC, JEE are cleared by only those who have scored good marks in their high school. On contrary, not all students are good at academics and their intellectual abilities are more developed. Such kids possess numerous talents such as, dancing, singing, and painting. If these children are devoid of education in schools, they will not be able to learn about the things that are useful in daily life. For an instance, according to survey held in May, 2019 by UNESCO on a group of 500 people revealed that out of 500, 80% were not that good at studies and were more passionate about different things. If they were deprived of good education on the basis of marks, they would have never prospered. According to me. I opine that judging students bases on their academic scores is not only unfair to them, but also to the education system. Each and every child is special and possess a talent which needs to be explored and this can be done only with the right guidance. Besides, a person gets to learn a lot of things at school such as, cooperation and patience. To reiterate, it can be concluded that although giving admission on the basis of examination scores is not entirely incorrect, its demerits can not be ignored. If a system is built that takes into consideration both, the scores and the talent, it would create a positive change in education system.