What causes teenagers to spend so much time on Instagram (or Tiktok) and what effect does Instagram (or Tiktok) have on teenagers’ mental health?

There is no denying that teenagers all over the world spend most of their time on social media, especially Instagram. According to WVEA, American teens spend up to an average of nine hours on such platforms. This can lead to addiction and some detrimental effects. While many factors have contributed to it, the two main reasons may be due to the fear of missing out and lack of socialization. One of the most profound factors of adolescent overuse of social networks is the fear of missing out. They fear that if they do not go online frequently, they are likely to miss out on major events and cannot catch up with the ongoing trends. Thus, they feel left out of their peers’ conversation involving such news and become a loner. So, teenagers glue to Instagram all day to keep themselves up-to-date with the world outside. Though, this can be a double-edged sword to them as false information is frequently spread on social media platforms. Such inaccurate information is deemed to have a negative effect on their mindset resulting in pessimistic thoughts and emotions such as depression, anxiety, and more. Furthermore, if teenagers keep on getting news from networks without paying attention to their surroundings, their relationship with their family might fall, which then leads to mental illness. Another reason for such behaviour is lack of socialization. There is a good portion of teenagers who find it hard to fit in at school and use social media platforms as tools to make friends. Their online presence can be far different from how they are usually seen in real life. For instance, while a teenager might come off as shy and timid in her class, on Instagram, she is a lot bolder with her words. Some adolescents may even turn to social media because they feel isolated from the world. Instagram might be able to comfort them but as they continue using it as an escape from reality, their problems can never be solved. What is more, they can get worse through time and eventually lead to serious mental disorders including depression and autism. In conclusion, the fear of missing out and social necessity have greatly contributed to adolescent overuse of social media such as Instagram, and such pattern of behaviour can lead to some detrimental effects on teenagers.