Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children, while others think children can read by themselves through a variety of sources, such as books and the Internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Opinions on reading in children tend to vary among people. While some believe that parents should take responsibility for reading and telling children different stories, it has been suggested that children have the ability to read and understand the stories in books and the Internet without any help. This essay will elaborate on these two opposing views and will put forward my own position on this issue. On the one hand, those who are in favor of teaching children by parents on stories may think like this probably because it would offer the youngsters proper guidance or supervision. It can be explained that they may find it difficult to recognise which stories are good or bad, so the parents would select for them proper reading materials. For example, many children choose to read “The Godfather” by themselves, which is an unsuitable book for such age, there would be a possibility of misunderstanding the concept, moral and the profound meaning of the stories. In addition, the family bonds tend to be strengthened through reading books for children because family members would devote time to each other. On the other hand, there are those who oppose the above idea may believe that it is more beneficial for youngsters to read books by themselves. This is likely because this activity would develop their skills in the early time. In other words, the process of reading without any instruction seems to be difficult for most children at first, but it would develop many skills such as independent, self-study, cognitive thinking that children are expected to have in the schools and future also. For instance, according to BBC news, 59% of successful people surveyed had the habit of reading books and newspapers when they were young. In addition, children can be better interested and motivated as they would have freedom to explore the topics that they have interest in and read about them whenever they want. However, from my perspective, there should be a combination of parents’ support and self-reading. By that I mean, children should be given freedom to read stories through books or the Internet. After finishing, their parents should ask them to tell again about what they read and assist them to understand the meaning conveyed in these stories. To illustrate, many Japanese families have applied this strategy, as a result the children there usually have great ability in reading books and have great knowledge and comprehensive development. To sum up, I believe both arguments have their merits. Nevertheless, from my point of views, though today’s children have the ability to analyse situations and stories much better, it is always the responsibility of parents to look after how well they understand it.