Some people think parents of children who commit crime should also be punished as they are responsible for their children’s crime.

It is sometimes argued that parents who have a criminal child should also be punished as they are in charge of that child. In my opinion, those parents should not be sentenced despite the fact that parents does play a vital role in the child’s behaviour. Parents are responsible for the child’s crime as they have the closest relationship to the child. Therefore, the child’s actions depends mostly on the kind of connection with their parents. A child with a healthy relationship with his parent will be less likely to causing faulty as they might develop good social associations. As a result, that child may not be affected by social problems. Despite the fact that parents are in charge of their offspring, they should not be punished for some reasons. The parent-child relationship is not the exclusive relationship that has influence on the child’s way of acting. Other social relationships such as friendship, teacher-student relation could also be response for the behaviour of the child. If the child has an toxic social relationship, for instance with a drug dealer, that child might be enticed by that person and then becomes a crime as a result. To conclude, although parents are the main driving force for their offspring’s faulty, they should not be at fault for their child’s criminal acts. Punishing that child directly might be the best way to prevent him from re-offending.