Some people think parents are responsible for transporting their children to school. Other think it is government’s responsibility.

There has been debate about who among government and parents are responsible for transporting students to the school. In my opinion, it should be government’s responsibility and reasons for the same are multifold which are discussed in the essay below. Firstly, governments all around the world have been promoting car pooling to combat the detrimental effects of global warming caused by carbon emission. Hence, if government takes up this responsibility, all students can reach to the school in a single vehicle which might have a positive impact on air quality of the vicinity. Secondly, all students come from different social-economic and domestic backgrounds. Some students are independently managing their transport to the school via public transport in case if both parents are working full-time. This can compromise the safety of students and make them susceptible to thieves, burglars or random strangers who might harm them if not supervised. Hence, governmental school transport can provide good and safe environment for students to mingle up and make new friends. On the other hand, even though it has significant advantages, it’s negative impacts are incontrovertible. In this fast-paced world, some parents get time to spend with their children while commuting. Also, if the government aided school transportation is not supervised, students can become victim of bullying by their peers and seniors. This can have a serious repercussions on physical and mental health of an individual. To reiterate, advantages of government aided school transport largely overweighs its negative side. Hence, government should take up the responsibility of transporting students to the school in safe and protected environment under the supervision.