Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who some times disagree with them

It is argued that it is better to have friendship with those who share the same mindset. However, others believe it is fruitful to make friends with those who sometimes disagree / argue with us. Although friends who share our values and interests can better understand us in tough situations, people who criticize us or disagree with us could give proper guidance and show us the real situation. This essay will discuss both sides before arriving at a conclusion. On the one hand, friends who share our thought process tend to understand us better in tough times of life. They can imagine themselves in our situation and provide us moral support. For instance, as per Harvard business Review, people who have identical mindset tend to recover faster from any kind of stress or anxiety when they share their problems with one another. Thus, it is quite evident that like-minded personalities assist each other effectively during harsh times. On the other hand, buddies who sometimes contradict our idea or thought can guide us better and show us the reality of life. This kind of people may not support every one of our ideas because sometimes they suspect that we are not going on the right track. For example, if all the friends of a smoker are smokers, he will never get to hear about the harmful consequences of smoking. On the other hand, if he has at least a few non-smokers among his friends, they will constantly advise him to quit smoking. Obviously, there are benefits to having friends who do not possess the same likes and interests as us. In conclusion, I personally believe that a person should have both like-minded and unlike-minded friends. While friends who share the same interests as us offer great company, those who differ from us can offer better perspective.