Some people think it's better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it's good to have friends who some times disagree with them

Friends are wonderful companions and people share their emotions and thoughts with them. Many believe that friends should accord with them, whereas others think that it is better to have diverse opinions in a friendship. I believe that it is up to a person to decide whether they want likeminded friends or not. On the one hand, while making friends, some people are looking for likeminded individuals who share common interests such as choices related to fashion, sports, education, food and so on. As they mostly have a common direction and goals, their compatibilities are much stronger. Hence, they understand each other very well and they could make better choices together. For example, when one goes shopping with these types of friends, together they can buy things in less time. However, in certain scenarios, such friends are reluctant to share honest opinions as they are afraid that by making any contradictory statements, they might risk their friendship. On the other hand, some people believe that friends with diverse opinions are required to make better decisions in their lives. For example, while buying a home, if friends suggest multiple options then together they can list down the pros and cons of every site and choose the right home. Moreover, one can get ample ideas and suggestions when one’s friends have different viewpoints. However, sometimes conflict might arise when the opinions do not match. For instance, amongst friends, if one person tries to supersede others with his thoughts then the friendship will not last long. To recapitulate, making friends with people who have similar opinions and different opinions has its own merits and demerits. Hence, I believe, it is an individual’s responsibility to choose friends who are loyal and truthful to him.