Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinion as them. Other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them.

Friends are the best companions one can have in life. Some hold the belief that choosing friends of the similar opinion is better while others think that friends with different opinions are good. This essay will discuss both these views in details and explain why friends with difference in opinion are much better. People who have likeminded friends tend to understand each other better in tough times. They hold same thoughts while dealing with a specific situation. For instance, a study proved that in the times of mental distress or anxiety, one can deal with it more effectively if he or she discusses it with a person who thinks in the similar way. Thus, it is true that people with identical opinions can be of strong support during the difficult times. However, friends who have contrasting opinions might guide an individual in a better way. This is because there are two different thoughts and one has the option of choosing the best between the two. Additionally, sometimes people with difference of opinions might be able to guide each other in a positive way. For example, a friend who smokes will not correct another smoker friend. But on the contrary, a non-smoker friend might influence the friend who is a chain smoker and help him to get rid of smoking. To conclude, one should select their friends according to their preferences. On one hand likeminded friends will share same opinions at the tough times. On the other hand, different opinionated friends can assist in making your life much better. I support the thought of having friends with difference of thoughts so that one can have diverse discussions and enjoyments with their friends.