Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems.

The debate over moving problems has evolved as a major topic of concern among many people these days. Some people hold the common belief that citizens normally spent more money on traffic infrastructure than on public transportation. From personal perception, I believe that both roads and public transportation systems play a significant role in modern society and therefore should be equally invested in. On the one hand, there are many advantages of constructing and widening roads. The first point is that the more traffic infrastructures are expanded, the more simple is the movement of people. For instance, it is more convenient to commute by private transport rather than waiting for the bus and train, which affects people’s travel schedules. Furthermore, better road quality would increase the levels of safety and ease traffic congestion, which considerably decline in road mortality and injury rates. This is reasonable as the road in many countries are fraught with holes and obstacles, which is dangerous and insecurity for citizens On the other hand, the government should invest money in public transportation because of many reasons. Firstly, the use of buses or trains help to cut down on emissions, which pollute the environment. As compared to a car, the bus could transport more passengers at a time. To be more specific, a modal shift from private to public transport would tremendously alleviate urban congestion, which makes the city attractive to live and work. In contrast, when the traffic jams are eliminated, not only does this reduce the air pollution, but also mitigates the effects of climate changes as a whole. In conclusion, for the reasons above, I believe that money should be well-spent not only on roads and motorways but also public transportation systems.