How to prevent and confront cyberattack?

Cybersecurity in this modern world, besides the banking sector which deals directly with currency, has not yet been taken care of seriously. News of a data breach, exploitation of the system such as government or any other top tier company, and more have been widespread almost every year. This is indicated that the security of the internet itself is really poor and need advancement immediately. Therefore, we need solutions or method in order to confront or prevent a cyberattack from happening. There are 5 methods which you can use on daily basis to confront and prevent such attack to happen. Firstly, Organization should give more authority to the department in charge of cybersecurity. This way, they can contribute to business logic because it is at the moment not only about the security of the company but the business security itself. If the security of the company is failing, so does the stock, revenues, and reputation of the organization. For example, the CEO should get involved with the technical issue the company are facing. It’s not mandatory for the CEO to be skillful in the IT sector, but at the very least, being able to see the overall picture of the system and how it should be fixed in order to prevent such cases. The CEO and the CISO( Chief Information Security Officer ) should be contacting each other directly and interchangeably. After all, without the right team in place, governance rules and clear management procedures, handling risks around security, privacy and ethics become a steeper climb. Secondly, Company should invest more budget in this sector as well. The small company tends to overlook this part and think it’s not imperative and not yet at a level to concern such things. This is so wrong. If insecurity does exist in your company, your company won’t be able to scale, and most importantly, are likely to collapse when withstanding the cyberattack. With enough budget, we will be able to build a resilient, yet agile infrastructure for our end consumer. This possibility prevents us from certain damages from cyberattack. For example, when we first build our system, it tends to be vulnerable to any type of cyberattack. We do spend a budget on security. However, the hacker still is able to hack into our system and later on threaten us for a huge amount of money which is more than what we had invested in security. Is the investment in security worth it if we were to pay the hacker twice the amount of it even after we pay for the security? It’s not worth it at all when it’s not enough. Hence, we would rather spend that much money we spend on hacker to the infrastructure itself. At least, it’s worth it. Last but not least, expertise in the IT sector should be comprehended by everyone in the company. Unless everyone in the company contributes in helping to fortify the security system, no system is immune to all sort of cyberattack. This can be done in any way. For instance, the company should conduct a seminar regarding IT knowledge and company security once a month in order to accustom all the staffs in the company to this environment. Additional skill in the IT sector should be put in a job requirement when recruiting candidate for any specific position. It helps a lot. Finally, the preparation for the worst scenario. When it comes to cyberattack, we can’t really predict accurately of what’s going to happen. If the worst happens, the quick recovery system comes into plays. We are able to minimize the damages and also able to recover quickly afterwards. The faster we recover, the less damage we get. Furthermore, we also need a system for quick detection after the recovery. Such action needs to be regulated by the government’s law. The attack itself is likely to leave a trace which we can use to backtrack to find the origin place of where the attack comes from, or even more than that, where it is at the moment. Recently, the rising of white-hat hacker has increased drastically. Those hacker jobs are to exploit your system, find your vulnerability, and inform that to your organization, so your organization can fix it on time before the worst happens. That’s also a good head-start for a company to prepare for the worst cases. Taking everything into account, these are 4 main methods that you can apply to everyday life. Keep in mind that this won’t solve 100% of the problem. You are still vulnerable to the cyberattack if the attack was vast enough, or the hacker got a professional skill. Still, it will help at least 50-70% of it. It’s better than nothing at all.