Some people think it is good for students to take a gap year before going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of doing so?

In the modern times, teenagers prefer to take a gap after completing their high-school education. Some people support this decision, whereas most of the parents are against it. Everyone have a preconceived notion of what they want in life. Besides that, selecting a career to pursue is highly important as well as a life changing decision. Taking a break before proceeding with University studies has its own benefits and drawbacks, which we will discuss in this essay. One the one hand, students coming from wealthy family perhaps prefer to go on trip after studying for a long period. On the other hand, students from a poor background would join temporary jobs in order to support their family financially. Either way, both tends to gain some real life experiences whether it be travelling along with learning the different culture, language of other countries or gaining a work experience. For example, when students having a family business are not sure if they want to do business courses, they can take time and get involved in the work before making the final decisions. There are chances that the students may not get the preferred courses or university, if they decide to take a break after completing the higher studies. Also after taking a long break it becomes difficult to accustom themselves to studying. Adding to that, they might forget the basics that they have learnt earlier. After spending some time in work or adventure, they probably decide to pursue a career related and end their studies. In conclusion, if students are not certain of their life goals, it is always better to take sometime until they have a clear vision rather than making any hasty decisions. However, they also have to consider the consequences it may have in their academic career before deciding to a year break from studies.