Some people think it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them.

While it is preferred by some to have like-minded friends, I completely agree with others who would rather having friends with contradictory ideas since they can improve the quality of one’s life. Some people like to have friends with similar ideas and interests because they think life would be easier and more fun this way. They believe when a problem pops up, a friend with in common ideas would support one’s points of view and can help them to come up with the greatest solutions. This kind of supportive friendships will make one more confident dealing with problems, and would boost their chance of success. Moreover, when it comes to having fun, friends with the same interests would enjoy more. Since they have alike pastimes, they would easily choose an activity to do, or a place to go without any disagreements or negotiations and take the most out of it. A recent study by National Psychology concluded that people who have friends with the same ideas and interests are typically more confident and are three times happier than others. On the other hand, others, myself included, argue that friends with opposite points of view and pastimes are the best. This is because, in case of a problem, this kind of friendship enables one to see the problem from a totally different perspective, which will aid them to analyse the issue thoroughly and completely, and eventually opt the best solutions. Obviously, this is the best and the most productive way to deal with difficulties in life. Additionally, different-minded buddies will make life more interesting since they can challenge one’s boundaries. My best friend, Ali, is super adventurous, but I have my best times hanging out with him despite being completely cautious and conservative. Last month, for instance, he forced me to do bungee jumping. I would never do this, if he had not forced me to try, and I have to say that it was my best experience in life. In conclusion, some choose like-minded friends because they make them more confident and relax in life and help them to enjoy more. However, as far as I am concerned, the best mates are the ones with opposite opinions since they help one to be more productive as well as more adventurous.