Some people think government is unnecessarily spending money on arts and that is the money can be spent on something better.

Art is a form of expression and an integral part of our culture. Governments promoting and supporting art is crucial for the well-being of a nation. However, there are some negative aspects of this action. This essay sheds light on the benefits and drawbacks of government supporting art, and in the end, draws a clear conclusion. To begin with, there are some areas in our country where the government’s help is necessary. The authorities should focus more on building hospitals, schools, and colleges. For instance, building educational institutes ensures education for all. It will later enable students to get jobs, and then they will be able to support themselves. In the long run, it will assist in increasing the country’s GDP. The government should also tend to orphans, single parents, elderly citizens, and needy people by providing monetary support. If they are spending the money on art, then they cannot assist the needy. On the contrary, art is also necessary for the welfare of the country. Art is at the roots of our country. As civilization grew, the focus on art also increased. For example, printed silk and muslins were exported from India to other parts of the world. As the trade flourished, it made our country prosperous. Even now, if the government supports art and artists, many people will get employed in this sector. Not only will it preserve our culture but also spread it to all the corners of the world. Preservation of ancient art is also crucial in promoting tourism. For instance, many people visit India to visit the Taj Mahal, one of the Seven Wonders of the World. In conclusion, I would suggest that government should continue to assist in the survival and spread of art. Many people want to pursue art but cannot, owing to the lack of prospects. If art flourishes, then many people will be able to follow their passion. There might be some drawbacks, but they are surpassed by the overall advantages it provides.