In the past people often had the same jobs for their entire lives. However, these days, many people choose to change career at least once in their lives. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Switching job fields have become common practice among the working-class people of today, which has its own benefits which overrule the drawbacks. Changing career paths has several positive outcomes. On the one hand, it develops skills and experience which can be transferred to more than one job which results in job success among various fields. For example, a retail sales assistant needs skills such as clear communication, interpersonal and customer service skills which can also be applied to other job sectors like waitress, nurse and receptionist. Consequently, people who change their career fields are rarely unemployed because of their diverse knowledge, skills and work experience. Secondly, a career change is especially advantageous for the older generation who would like to continue working however they are unable to continue employment in the field they specialize in due to their age. For example, a retired doctor may not be able to practice but is able to teach the profession. On the other hand, the drawback of changing job sectors is that it relies heavily upon starting from the grass-roots level with regards to the work, which can lead to extended hours spent studying. Subsequently, this leads to insufficient salary or a lack of it while involved in job training. This however is a small price to pay for improved prospects. Moreover, it is only a temporary condition, one which any individual at the starting point of their career has to sacrifice anyway. To conclude, switching career fields is beneficial to the growth and development of an individual who is willing to adapt. Access to job opportunities never runs short for this particular type of individual who is willing to make short-term sacrifices for improved prospects.