Some people think giving longer prison sentence is the best way to prevent crime, while others believe there are more effective methods.

Crime rates are increasingly greatly all over the world. It is often argued by certain groups that, this can be reduced by lifetime prison punishment, whilst others disagree and think that further better ways are helpful to solve this issue. This essay will discuss that how non-custodial sentences are productive techniques to fend off offences than putting criminals behind the bars. On the one hand, many believe that, wrongdoers should be punished for long time because this phenomenon will create fear among other criminals. To put in other words, if a person already knows the severity of punishment before committing any unsocial activity, he will think twice at least prior to do it. For example, in some countries the rapist and murderer usually get lifetime punishment or capital punishment, consequently, criminal will have discouragement before committing serious crime. Hence, strict punishment through prison sentence prevent crime. On the other hand, a section of the society claim that, other remedial measures such as non-custodial sentences including charging fines in minor cases as well as put offenders on probation can solve this issue effectively. In other words, in case of minor cases criminals should be penalized with heavy fines, moreover, during probation period, young offenders will be counseled and supervised by the official officers in corrective manners. Besides this, providing proper education and employment will also give a hand to wrongdoers to reintegrate back into society. I am inclined to believe that, punishment should be based on circumstantial crime particularly in serious offences, it should be longer as other people can take it as a lesson, and conversely, in some cases wrongdoer should have a chance to correct their self. In conclusion, many argued crime rate can be stopped by long time prison penalty, whilst other, claim that heavy fine and proper educations can solve this rising issue. According to me, with the help of corrective measures criminals can have a new start.